Never Play

20 years old.

If there’s anything I’ve learned in these 20 years,

It’s that the advice I have received from my elders haven’t been a load of malarkey or a bunch of hooey.

For the most part, what my parents have warned me about have been valid and crucial.

When I left home a few months ago,

My mindset was, I have to learn for myself. I disregarded their advice.

My mother spoke the words, “I just don’t want you to make the same mistakes I did.”

I thought, well either they are mine to make, or maybe they aren’t mistakes to me.

She later had said “I could have saved myself the heartache, but I didn’t, so I want to move on and help you and your sisters and brother.”

It touched me, in a very small way. So I kept it, like a file in the back of my mind for future reference.

Unfortunately, she was very very right. I made some decisions. Awesome, exciting decisions at the time.

Yet now if it weren’t for the learning experience in which we all need to grow, I would rewind time and take back some words and actions.

People can be very loving and true, but that also means people can be very deceitful and selfish.

I had my feelings thrown around like a game of dodge ball back in the fall.

I started to let someone in and I expressed how I felt.

It’s a dangerous thing to do if the other person only pretends to care.

The “romance” ended as quickly as it came.

For many reasons I was okay with it.

For starters it is only what I deserved.

Also in the back of my mind as mentioned before,

I remembered all my parents had ever tried to do.

You do need to try things and get out of your comfort zone.

But taking advantage of being lucky, and gambling with your decisions can get you into trouble.

Since then I’ve focused on real love.

Family. Friends. & The caring of the well being of other people.

So you see this whole time, out of true love, out of true care,

My parents weren’t trying to bore me with sob stories,

or stop me from having a good time or enjoying the rush of falling in love,

They were only trying to help.

It was their sole purpose the entire time.

I encourage each person to consider this when receiving advice from anyone who loves them.

Mom & dad always said, mess with the bull & you’ll get the horns. Play with fire, and you’ll get burned.

(I made this video with the help of some old clips on my computer to make this post a bit more personal and relatable.

If you have time I’d give the whole song a listen, it’s message is pretty much the same.)

Leave a Reply

